Buyer Guide

E-Bike Battery Voltage Explained: 36V, 48V, 52V, 60V and 72V

A voltage label is only a starting point; chemistry, series count, charger limit and controller range must also match.

Nominal versus full charge

Series-cell assumptions

Ah, Wh and compatibility

E-Bike Battery Voltage Chart: 36V, 48V, 52V, 60V and 72V

For lithium-ion packs using a 4.2V-per-cell charge limit, common examples are 36V/10S at 42.0V full charge, 48V/13S at 54.6V, 52V/14S at 58.8V, 60V/16S at 67.2V and 72V/20S at 84.0V. These are conditional calculations, not universal charger specifications. Check the pack’s chemistry, series count and approved charger before applying them. The voltage printed on an e-bike battery is its nominal class; its actual reading changes with charge and load.

Jump to the voltage chart and its assumptions · Why voltage does not give an exact battery percentage

E-bike battery voltage chart: nominal and full charge

The calculations below assume cells rated at 3.6V nominal and charged to 4.2V per cell in series. Molicel’s INR-21700-P42A is one example with those ratings. Other cells and chemistries use different values. Confirm the actual pack documentation before choosing a battery or charger.

Common market label Example series count Calculated nominal voltage at 3.6V/cell Calculated full-charge voltage at 4.2V/cell Compatibility note
36V 10s 36.0V 42.0V Requires a system designed for this series count and charge limit
48V 13s 46.8V 54.6V The market label rounds the calculated nominal voltage
52V 14s 50.4V 58.8V Do not substitute for 48V without controller, BMS and charger approval
60V 16s 57.6V 67.2V “60V” does not prove chemistry or series count
72V 20s 72.0V 84.0V Requires components and wiring rated for the complete system
Technical e-bike battery voltage guide showing battery, multimeter and labeled electrical values
Illustrative voltage reference. The calculations in this guide apply only to the stated cell-voltage assumptions.

Common label → series-count example

10S36V class36.0V nominal; 42.0V calculated full charge.
13S48V class46.8V nominal; 54.6V calculated full charge.
14S52V class50.4V nominal; 58.8V calculated full charge.
16S60V class57.6V nominal; 67.2V calculated full charge.
20S72V class72.0V nominal; 84.0V calculated full charge.

Arithmetic example only: 3.6V nominal and 4.2V maximum charge per cell. Confirm chemistry, cell specification, BMS, charger and controller before applying it.

A compatible replacement must match the system’s chemistry, series cell count, maximum charge voltage, BMS limits, controller input range, connector and communication requirements. The same “48V” label can hide different engineering details, so the battery and charger labels and the vehicle manual control the decision.

Voltage affects the motor-controller operating range. Amp-hours describe charge capacity. Watt-hours combine both values and provide the better starting point for comparing stored energy.

Nominal watt-hours (Wh) = nominal voltage (V) × amp-hours (Ah)

Nominal voltage and full-charge voltage do different jobs

Nominal voltage is a reference used for labeling and system design. Cell voltage changes during use. The full-charge voltage is the charger and BMS limit for the defined cell configuration. A 13-series example reaches 54.6V under the 4.2V-per-cell assumption:

13 cells in series × 4.2V per cell = 54.6V

A charger marked 54.6V may fit a common 13s lithium-ion pack, but that number alone does not approve the charger. Chemistry, connector, polarity, current and any communication protocol must still match.

Why a voltage reading does not prove state of charge

Voltage changes with load, rest time, temperature, cell chemistry, pack balance and BMS behavior. A reading taken while the motor draws current can be lower than the resting voltage. After the load stops, the reading may recover. Two packs at the same resting voltage can still have different usable capacity and internal resistance.

Use the battery display or diagnostic method approved for the system. Do not open the pack or probe cell groups. The battery health guide explains why route evidence and capacity diagnostics are more useful than one voltage reading.

How to interpret a battery voltage reading

A voltage reading can help check the battery’s voltage class, but it cannot give an exact charge percentage or prove remaining capacity. Use the display or a test method authorised in the vehicle manual. These examples explain readings; they are not instructions to open a pack or probe exposed terminals.

Example What the information tells you What it does not prove
A confirmed 13S pack using 4.2V maximum-charge cells 13 cells in series gives a calculated full-charge limit of 54.6V. 13S does not identify Ah, usable Wh, connector polarity or charger approval.
53.0V on that same pack The reading is below its calculated full-charge limit. 53.0 ÷ 54.6 × 100 = 97.1% is a voltage ratio, not 97.1% state of charge.
A lower reading on a hill that rises after stopping Load-related voltage sag can explain the difference. Recovery alone does not prove the pack is healthy or explain repeated power cut-outs.
Five bars on a 48V display The display has reached its configured top-bar threshold. Five bars do not establish a universal full-charge voltage.

Ride1UP’s official display guidance illustrates the last distinction: its Core-5/Turris group lists a 49.0V five-bar threshold, while its 700 Series/Rift/LMT’D group lists 51.0V. Both groups are labelled 48V. These are model-specific display settings, not charger specifications or recommendations for another bike. Do not copy another model’s gauge settings to make your display appear full.

For a useful comparison, record whether the displayed voltage was taken at rest or under assistance, along with temperature, charge history and any error code. Repeated shutdowns belong in a motor cut-out diagnostic check; reduced usable capacity belongs in the battery health guide. A single voltage number cannot separate those faults.

Ah and Wh answer different buying questions

Value Meaning Useful comparison Limit
V Electrical potential and system voltage class Controller, charger and motor-system compatibility Does not state stored energy by itself
Ah Charge capacity Packs at the same nominal voltage Cannot compare energy across different voltages alone
Wh Nominal energy from V × Ah Starting point for pack energy comparison Usable energy and route range remain system- and condition-dependent

A 48V 20Ah label gives 960Wh nominal, while a 60V 20Ah label gives 1,200Wh nominal:

48V × 20Ah = 960Wh
60V × 20Ah = 1,200Wh

The higher Wh number does not guarantee a fixed distance. Speed, load, hills, temperature, tires, controller behavior and reserve change consumption. The 60V 20Ah range guide provides a worked example with stated assumptions.

Can a higher-voltage battery improve performance?

A higher system voltage can support a different speed, current or efficiency design, but only when the controller, motor, BMS, display, wiring, connectors and charger were selected for it. Installing a battery above the controller’s input limit can damage components or create a fire risk. A controller that accepts the voltage may still have current and thermal limits that prevent the intended result.

Use the motor wattage guide to define vehicle load, hills and duty cycle before selecting the electrical system.

Battery compatibility checklist

  • Exact battery model and chemistry
  • Series cell count and nominal voltage
  • Maximum charge voltage and approved charger
  • BMS continuous and peak current limits
  • Controller operating-voltage range and low-voltage behavior
  • Connector type, pinout and polarity
  • Mechanical fit, lock, enclosure and mounting loads
  • Communication or authentication requirements
  • Target-market classification and required documentation

The charger compatibility guide turns the charger-related items into a separate decision process. Charging time remains with the charging-time formula guide.

Can you put a 52V battery on a 48V e-bike?

Only if your bike manufacturer approves that exact battery for the bike’s complete electrical system. With lithium-ion cells rated at 3.6V nominal and 4.2V fully charged, a 13-series pack reaches 54.6V and a 14-series pack reaches 58.8V. The controller would receive a higher maximum voltage, even if the new battery fits the mount.

The controller’s accepted voltage range, protection settings, display behaviour, motor application and charger must all match. A connector that fits does not prove the wiring, communication or protection system is compatible. Nor does the absence of an immediate error establish that the system is safe.

Can you use a 48V battery on a 36V e-bike?

The same rule applies. Under the table’s lithium-ion assumptions, 36V-labelled 10-series and 48V-labelled 13-series packs have full-charge voltages of 42V and 54.6V respectively. The original system may not accept that higher input. Without explicit model-specific approval, keep the approved battery configuration.

Other cell chemistries and series counts give different values. Use the pack’s approved charger and limits; a nominal-voltage label or this calculation cannot establish them.

Part What needs to match Where to confirm it
Battery and BMS Chemistry, maximum voltage, current limits and communication Specification for the exact pack and the bike manufacturer’s approval
Controller and firmware Input voltage range, protection settings and battery support Complete-system documentation; the controller’s maximum rating alone is insufficient
Motor and drive system Approved battery/controller combination and operating limits Motor or complete-bike specification
Display and controls Communication, charge indication, error reporting and assistance settings Documentation for the installed system and version
Charger Approved model, output voltage, charging method and current Battery manufacturer’s charger list or written approval
Connector and harness Polarity, ratings, communication and pin layout Manufacturer’s wiring documentation, checked through an approved service procedure
Mount and enclosure Fit, retention and installation Bike and battery mounting instructions

If the bike manufacturer does not approve the combination, choose the specified replacement pack or a bike designed for the performance you need. A compatible-looking connector and a working display are not enough.

How should you check an e-bike battery’s voltage?

Start with the battery label, applicable manual and manufacturer-supported display or diagnostic information. A voltage reading is useful only when you know which pack it refers to and how it was obtained. Record whether it is a supported resting reading or a reading while the bike is drawing power; these are not interchangeable.

Do not open a battery, probe individual cells, guess connector pins or bridge contacts to obtain a measurement. External electrical testing belongs in the manufacturer’s approved procedure and, where needed, with qualified service personnel. A charging problem should follow the not-charging diagnostic path, not an improvised voltage test.

A normal-looking voltage does not establish remaining capacity or battery health. Voltage varies with load, temperature, chemistry and charge history. Use the battery health guide to separate a usable-energy question from a voltage indication; use the charger compatibility guide for replacement charging equipment.

Questions about e-bike battery voltage

What voltage is a fully charged 48V e-bike battery?

A common 13s lithium-ion design using a 4.2V-per-cell maximum reaches 54.6V. Confirm the chemistry and series count. Some packs marketed near the same voltage class use different designs.

What voltage is a fully charged 60V or 72V battery?

Under this chart’s 4.2V-per-cell assumption, a 16S example reaches 67.2V and a 20S example reaches 84.0V. The 60V or 72V sales label alone does not confirm that series count or chemistry. Lead-acid and lithium iron phosphate packs need their own manufacturer specifications.

At what voltage is an e-bike battery empty?

There is no pack-wide cutoff that can be assigned from a 36V, 48V or 60V label alone. Cell limits, the BMS, the controller and voltage under load all matter. Molicel’s P42A datasheet specifies a 2.5V cell discharge voltage, but multiplying that by the series count does not establish the safe cutoff for a finished e-bike battery. Use the battery and vehicle manufacturer’s approved limits; do not lower controller cutoffs to extract more range.

Can I put a 52V battery on a 48V e-bike?

Only when the vehicle, controller, display, motor system and charger documentation approves the exact 52V battery. Connector fit is not approval.

Does more voltage mean more range?

Voltage alone does not state energy. Compare Wh, then account for usable capacity, efficiency, speed, load, terrain, temperature and reserve.

Can I use voltage to test battery health?

A safe external reading can help identify gross mismatch when the manual provides a test point, but it does not measure usable capacity or behavior under load. Do not open the pack.

Why do some 48V packs read more than 48V?

The label is nominal. Cell voltage rises during charge and falls during use. A 13s pack under the 3.6V/4.2V assumption calculates to 46.8V nominal and 54.6V full charge.

Specify the complete electrical system

For a dealer range, compare the E1 retro commuter with the E3 folding e-bike in our electric bike range. If your customers need a moped-style vehicle, start with our electric mopeds.

For a wholesale or OEM enquiry, send the model, expected quantity and target market, along with the load, route, speed requirements, daily distance and charging arrangements. Include any battery documentation required for your market. Jimsen can review a matched battery, controller and charger configuration and the sample checks needed for your project. See the OEM/ODM service scope or send the electrical requirements.

Technical sources

Table of Contents

    JIMSEN

    Electric mobility manufacturing

    Explore production capability, OEM support and electric bike platform options.

    Share

    Related Articles

    E-Bike Spare Parts and After-Sales Planning for Importers
    E-Bike Wholesale Pricing: Factory Quotes and Landed Costs
    E-Bike Battery Recycling in the US: Where to Take It
    E-Bike vs Electric Moped: Differences and How to Choose